Open mobile menu
Close mobile menu

For all the latest Coronavirus information including support for Copeland residents and businesses

Click here

Copeland Borough Council line-up unveiled

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

THE line-up of borough councillors who will serve Copeland for the next four years has been formally unveiled.

Copeland Borough Council’s 33 elected members today attended the Copeland Centre to sign their declarations of acceptance.

Following Thursday’s election the political makeup of the Council stands at 19 Labour councillors, 10 Conservative and four independent.

Joining newly re-elected Mayor Mike Starkie, councillors have been elected to the following wards:

  • Gosforth and Seascale: David Moore and Andy Pratt
  • Beckemet: Sam Meteer
  • Corkickle: Gemma Dinsdale
  • Distington, Lowca and Parton: Jackie Bowman and Dave Banks
  • Kells: John Kane
  • Black Combe and Scafell: Ged McGrath and Doug Wilson
  • Sneckyeat: Jeanette Forster
  • St Bees: Jeffrey Hailes
  • Moor Row and Bigrigg: Graham Calvin
  • Moresby: Reginald Minshaw
  • Arlecdon and Ennerdale: Gwynneth Everett and Steven Morgan
  • Millom: James Date, Fred Gleaves and Felicity Wilson
  • Whitehaven Central: Sean Cullen, Charles Maudling and Eileen Weir
  • Hillcrest: Allan Forster, Brian O'Kane and Russell Studholme
  • Cleator Moor: Hugh Branney, Joan Hully and Linda Jones-Bulman
  • Egremont: Tom Higgins, Mike McVeigh and Sam Pollen
  • Whitehaven South: Mike Hawkins, Peter Tyson and Wammo Walmsley.

Copeland now has 33 councillors - a reduction from 51 - after a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

Mike Starkie, Elected Mayor of Copeland, said: “I’d like to congratulate Copeland Councillors who will join me for the next four years.

“It is a privilege to serve the people of Copeland and myself together with officers of the council are looking forward to working with all councillors, to make Copeland a better place to live, work and visit.”