Locality working


Locality working

  1. North East Copeland Locality Action Plan

    Every year the Regeneration North East Copeland and the partnership of parishes which it represents identify priorities for delivery in the coming year.

  2. West Copeland Plan and October 2012 Update

    Community Partnership Plan for the West Copeland Partnership with updated action table October 2012.

  3. Howgate and Distington partnership

    In the early part of 2001, a steering group was formed from members of the three parishes who make up the old county council division of Howgate. The parishes are Lowca Moresby and Parton. The group worked with Voluntary Action Cumbria, now
    known as Action with Communities in Cumbria (ACT), under the Countryside Agency Vital Villages programme and received grant aid from that body. The result was the Howgate Ward Plan published in 2003.

  4. Whitehaven partnership

    Copeland has six main areas and groups of communities known as ‘Localities’ which are identified as distinctive functional areas having their own particular issues and needs. These are led by six area based Community Regeneration Partnerships with different governance structures underlying an approach to placemaking considered to be a key spatial planning tool helping to deliver sustainable communities. This Locality Plan provides detail on the priorities of the Whitehaven Locality Partnership.

  5. What Locality do I live in?
  6. Your locality

    Copeland is split into six groups of parishes, clustered around a town or large village where most services are available. By working together these parishes are able to address their community’s priorities in ways that are not always possible working alone.

  7. Consultations

    It is important that we get your views on the services we provide. Here you can see what topics we are consulting on. You can take part in live consultations and see the results of ones that have now closed.

  8. North East Copeland

    NE Copeland is home to 12,167 people and includes the parishes of Cleator Moor, Arlecdon & Frizington, Ennerdale & Kinniside, Lamplugh and Weddicar. Ennerdale is one of the most sparsely populated areas in Cumbria, whilst Cleator Moor is one of West Cumbria’s main industrial towns.

  9. Mid Copeland

    The parishes of Mid Copeland have worked together to support several key projects including:

    • planning and raising funds for a multi-user route (for walkers, cyclists and horseriders) between Gosforth and Seascale
    • a bus service between Seascale Station and Wasdale Head
    • developing proposals for visitor facilities at Wasdale
  10. South Copeland

    South Copeland is the most southerly part of West Cumbria, encompassing coastal areas and fell country. The main town in the locality is Millom, which is separated from the Furness peninsula by the Duddon Estuary and is bounded to the west by the Irish Sea.

  11. West Copeland

    The parishes of St Bees, Egremont, Haile and Wilton, Beckermet with Thornhill and Lowside Quarter work together as the West Copeland Partnership.

    The Partnership has raised funds to employ a gardener for the gardens at Egremont Castle and to improve areas around the parishes. It has also helped to address the provision of services for young people in the area.

  12. Howgate Distington

    The Howgate Distington Partnership meets every two months. It has been responsible for several initiatives to meet its communities' priorities including:

    • a 'lengthsman' service to the four parishes to tidy, improve and maintain untidy areas
    • addressing concerns around the area's roads.
  13. Copeland Partnership

    The Copeland Partnership resulted from a consultation process during 2010, to create a specific local strategic partnership arrangement for Copeland.  The roots of the Copeland Partnership are in our six localities and its structure has been built around existing partnership working facilitating streamlined delivery and many routes of influence. 


  14. Locality Plan

    Community Plan for West Copeland

  15. Whitehaven Partnership

    The Whitehaven Partnership was formed to bring together District and County Councillors to address the priorities of their communities.

  16. South Copeland Locality Plan

    This is the locality plan for South Copeland. Find out about your area with maps on page 14.

  17. Copeland Partnership Plan

    This Copeland Partnership Plan sets out our ten year shared vision for maintaining and building sustainable communities throughout Copeland. The single set of priority outcomes and measure of success are for all services in Copeland to focus on delivering to address local issues and community concerns.

Subscribe to Locality working