### STANDARDS COMMITTEE

## MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON 2 FEBRUARY 2009

Present: Dr S Bradley (Independent Member) (Vice Chairman) in the Chair.

Councillors: B Dixon; Mrs M Docherty; G Garrity; D Moore

Mr A Payne, (Independent Member)

Mr R Stewart (Parish Member)

Apologies for absence were received from Mr N Woodcock (Independent Member), Chairman; Councillors N Clarkson; R Salkeld; Mrs M B Woodburn; Mr V Chilton (Parish Member)

Officers: M Jepson, Head of Legal and Democratic Services; T Capper Democratic Services Manager

### **Minutes**

The minutes of the meeting held on 5 January 2009 were signed by the Chairman as a correct record, subject to the deletion of Mr R Stewart and addition of Mr A Payne to the list of attendees.

# STA 14 Use of Resources Key Lines of Enquiry

The Committee considered a report setting out the requirements for existing and future Audit Commission Key Lines of Enquiry (KLOE to assess progress on internal control issues, including ethical governance. New KLOE's would be introduced in April 2009 as part of the new Comprehensive Area Assessment inspection regime for local government.

**RESOLVED** – that the report be noted and a Work Plan for the Standards Committee for 2009/2010 based on the 4 new KLOE factors, as set out in para 3.2, be submitted to a future meeting for consideration, together with a review of the 2008/2009 workplan.

# STA 15 <u>Standards Board for England – Practical Exercises on Local</u> Assessment

The Committee worked through part of the second set of practical exercises on Local Assessment and Determination provided by the Standards Board for England.

The meeting closed at 3.35 pm

Chairman

### **STANDARDS COMMITTEE**

## MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON 17 FEBRUARY 2009

Present: Dr S Bradley (Independent Member) (Vice Chairman) in the Chair.

Councillors: Mrs M Docherty; G Garrity

Mr A Payne, (Independent Member)

Mr R Stewart; Mr V Chilton (Parish Members)

Apologies for absence were received from Mr N Woodcock (Independent Member), Chairman; Councillors B Dixon; N Clarkson; D Moore; R Salkeld; Mrs M B Woodburn.

Officers: T Capper Democratic Services Manager

# STA 17 Appointment of Independent Member

(Note: Mr A Payne and Mr R Stewart declared personal interests in this item due to their knowledge of the applicant.)

The Committee interviewed one candidate for the position of Independent Member of the Standards Committee following the resignation of Mr Nigel Woodcock with effect from the end of February 2009.

**RESOLVED** – That the Council be recommended to appoint Mrs Pat Routledge as an Independent Member of the Standards Committee with effect from 1 March 2009.

The meeting closed at 4.55 pm

# Chairman