### **COPELAND BOROUGH COUNCIL**

# MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING HELD ON 11 MAY 2010

**Present:** Councillors: H Wormstrup (Mayor); D Banks; J W Bowman; E Brenan; H Branney; Mrs Y R T Clarkson; G Clements; P C Connolly; Mrs M D Docherty; Mrs E Eastwood; Mrs A Faichney; G Garrity; Mrs C A Giel; F J Gleaves; F R Heathcote; K Hitchen; A Holliday; J Jackson; A Jacob; J Kane; M A McVeigh; S J Meteer; D W Moore; A D Mossop; A Norwood; J Park; J Prince; R Salkeld; W Southward; J G Sunderland; P D Tyson; Mrs C Watson; P Watson; P Whalley; C J Whiteside; J Williams; N Williams; D Wilson; Miss E M Woodburn; Mrs M B Woodburn; A Wonnacott; H Wormstrup.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors G Blackwell; A Carroll; N Clarkson; R Cole; B A Dixon; Mrs J Hully; T J Knowles; Mrs W Metherell; R Pitt; G Scurrah.

## C01 <u>Election of Mayor</u>

On the motion of Councillor E Woodburn and seconded by Councillor P Watson, it was

**RESOLVED -** That Councillor M McVeigh be elected Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year.

Councillor McVeigh then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, was invested with the Chain of Office and assumed the Chair.

#### **C02** Retiring Mayor and Mayoress

Councillor Wormstrup expressed his thanks for the support he and the retiring Mayoress had received during his term of office as Mayor.

It was then

**RESOLVED -** That the Council thanks most sincerely Councillor Wormstrup and the retiring Mayoress for the valuable service rendered by them to the Borough during their term of office.

The Leader of The Council, Councillor Miss E M Woodburn, and The Leader of the main Opposition Group, Councillor D W Moore also paid tribute to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

The Mayor announced that he had appointed Reverend Peter Sayer as his Chaplain for the ensuing year, and that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 4 July 2010 at 2.00pm.

## C03 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

It was moved by Councillor D Moore, duly seconded and

**RESOLVED** - That Councillor J Jackson be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year.

# C04 Minutes

The minutes of the meetings of the Council held on 13 April 2010 were signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

# C05 <u>Membership of Executive and Committees and Arrangements for Delegation of</u> Business

It was moved by Councillor Miss E M Woodburn, duly seconded and

**RESOLVED** – That the appointments to Committees and panels for the 2010/2011 municipal year be agreed as shown on the schedule attached to these minutes and the terms of reference of the Member Training and Development Panel be approved as submitted.

The meeting closed at 7.18 pm

Mayor