<u>APPOINTMENTS TO EXECUTIVE AND COMMITTEES AND CONSTITUTIONAL</u> CHANGES

LEAD OFFICER: Martin Jepson, Head of Legal & Democratic Services

REPORT AUTHOR: Tim Capper, Democratic Services Manager

Summary: Presents proposed appointments to the Executive and

committees for the 2010/2011.

Recommendation: That (a) the Council appoints the Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen

of the two new Overview and Scrutiny Committees and agrees the political allocations of the remaining places with appointments to

be made and terms of reference agreed on 22 June 2010;

(b) the remaining appointments to Committees and Panels be agreed as on the schedule to be circulated at the meeting.

Impact on delivering the Corporate Plan:

None

Impact on other statutory objectives and Health and Safety

None

Financial and human resource implications:

None

Project & Risk Management:

None

1. INTRODUCTION

1.1 This report recommends appointments to the Executive, committees and panels for the 2010/2011 year, together with associated changes.

2. OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEES

2.1 Council agreed on 13 April to reduce the number of Overview and Scrutiny Committees from four to two, with nine Members on each, and that the existing structure would cease from the date of this Annual Meeting. The terms of reference of the new committees will be developed at a Member workshop on 14 May and agreed by the next ordinary Council meeting on 22 June, together with the remaining members

2.2 At this meeting the Council is asked to appoint the Chair and Deputy Chairs of the two committees and agree the political allocation of the remaining seats on each. As agreed on 13 April the Chairs and Deputies will form an Interim Overview and Scrutiny Committee between this meeting and the Council meeting on 22 June to deal with any statutory overview and scrutiny duties which arise in the interim period.

3. MEMBER TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT

3.1 Following discussions with both main Group Leaders it has been agreed that a Member Training and Development Panel should be re-appointed for 2010/2011 in place of the existing arrangements. Council is asked to appoint a seven Member Panel

4. EXECUTIVE, COMMITTEE AND OUTSIDE BODY APPOINTMENTS

4.1 Details of appointments to Committees, panels etc as determined by the political groups under the political balance regulations will be circulated at the Annual Meeting for agreement in the usual way.

List of Appendices

Appendix A – Terms of Reference of Member Training and Development Panel

List of Background Documents:

List of Consultees: Monitoring Officer; S151 Officer; Leader

TERMS OF REFERENCE OF MEMBER TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT PANEL

- 1 To agree and monitor the Member Training and Development programme
- 2 To consider and agree annual arrangements for assessment of member training needs
- To consider and agree arrangements for induction training for new Councillors including joint training with other authorities and organisations
- To agree and monitor arrangements for accreditation to NWEO, IDEA and other organisations as appropriate.
- 5 To participate in county and regional member development networks.

MEMBERSHIPS FOR 2009/2010

EXECUTIVE

Leader (Finance & Strategic Nuclear) – Councillor E

Woodburn

Deputy Leader (Housing & Customer Services) -

Councillor G Clements

Development Operations - Councillor G Blackwell **Performance & HR -** Councillor J Bowman **Leisure, Culture & Youth -** Councillor H Branney

Development Strategy - Councillor C Giel

Environment & Sustainability - Councillor A Holliday **Health, Legal & Democratic Renewal -** Councillor N Williams

SHADOW EXECUTIVE

Leader (Finance & Strategic Nuclear) – Councillor D Moore

Deputy Leader (Housing & Customer Services) -

Councillor A W M Norwood

Development Strategy - Councillor Y R T Clarkson **Development Operations -** Councillor N Clarkson

Performance & HR - Councillor K Hitchen

Leisure, Culture & Youth - Councillor A Mossop **Health, Legal & Democratic Renewal -** Councillor C

Whiteside

Environment & Sustainability - Councillor D Wilson

PERSONNEL PANEL

Councillors: R Pitt (Chairman)

H Branney N Clarkson Mrs Y Clarkson K Hitchen P Whalley N Williams

LICENSING COMMITTEE

Councillors: P Tyson (Chairman)

D Banks R S Cole B Dixon

Mrs M D Docherty

S Meteer J Prince R Salkeld G Scurrah P Whalley A Wonnacott M Woodburn

TAXI AND GENERAL LICENSING PANEL

Councillors: P Tyson (Chairman)

R Cole D Banks J Prince R Salkeld M Woodburn A Wonnacott

JOINT CONSULTATIVE & SAFETY PANEL

Councillors: F Gleaves

R Heathcote K Hitchen J Park J Prince P Whalley N Williams

OSC - MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Councillors: B Dixon (Chairman)

K Hitchen (Deputy Chairman)

Mrs Y R T Clarkson Mrs M Docherty Mrs E Eastwood

G Garrity J Kane

Mrs W Metherell P Whallev

OSC – CHILDREN, YOUNG PEOPLE & HEALTHY COMMUNITIES

Councillors: Mrs Y R T Clarkson (Chairman)

G Garrity (Deputy Chairman)

A Carroll R Cole

Mrs M Docherty Mrs A Faichney

S Meteer M McVeigh J Park R Salkeld P Tyson P Watson C Whiteside

OSC - ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT & ENTERPRISE

Councillors: J Kane (Chairman)

C Whiteside (Deputy Chairman)

D Banks
E Brenan
N Clarkson
A Faichney
A Jacob
D Moore
A Mossop
J Prince

W Southward C Watson H Wormstrup

OSC - SAFER & STRONGER COMMUNITIES

Councillors: Mrs W Metherell (Chairman)

Mrs E Eastwood (Deputy Chairman)

G Garrity
F Gleaves
F Heathcote
K Hitchen
J Jackson
J Park

W Southward Mrs C Watson P Watson Mrs J Williams Mrs M Woodburn

NUCLEAR WORKING GROUP

Councillors: A Holliday

D K Banks E Brenan B Dixon D W Moore A W M Norwood Miss E M Woodburn

PLANNING PANEL

Councillors: W Southward (Chairman)

G Blackwell Mrs M Docherty Mrs E Eastwood

G Garrity
Mrs J I Hully
J Jackson
A Jacob
Mrs J Williams
D Wilson
Mrs M Woodburn

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Councillors: N Clarkson

B Dixon

Mrs M Docherty G Garrity D Moore R Salkeld

Mrs M Woodburn

Independent Members:

Dr S Bradley (D/Chairman)

Mr A Payne Mrs P Routledge

Parish Members:

Mr R Stewart Mr V Chilton

Substitute Parish Member:

To be confirmed

RESOURCE PLANNING WORKING GROUP

Leader of the Council

Councillors: A Holliday

J Bowman D Moore A W M Norwood

P Watson Mrs J Williams

LOCAL DEVELOPMENT FRAMEWORK WORKING PARTY

Councillors: P Connolly

G Blackwell Mrs M Docherty A Mossop G Scurrah W Southward

C Whiteside

PARISH REVIEW WORKING PARTY

Councillors: N Williams

G Clements P Connolly F Gleaves F Heathcote G Scurrah

P Tyson

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Mr M Bonner (Independent Chair)

Councillors: G Sunderland (Deputy Chair)

P C Connolly Mrs J Hully T J Knowles R Pitt G Scurrah D Wilson

CORPORATE IMPROVEMENT BOARD

Councillors: E Woodburn

J Bowman A W M Norwood G Sunderland

STRATEGIC HOUSING PANEL

Councillors: J Bowman

G Clements J Jackson A Jacob R Pitt

G Sunderland P Whalley

SEARCHING FOR BEST VALUE PANEL

Councillors: A Norwood

R Pitt

G Sunderland E Woodburn

LICENSING SUB COMMITTEES

Membership of 4 Licensing Sub Committees, of 3 Members each, to be taken from the Licensing Committee on a rota basis subject to availability and eligibility, with reserve membership being taken from any member of the Licensing Committee, and any such sub committee for the purpose of hearings before it is deemed to be appointed by the Licensing Committee under Section 10 of the Licensing Act 2003 and Section 154 of the Gambling Act 2005. Licensing Sub Committee Chairs to be appointed by Licensing Committee.