AUDIT COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON 3 JUNE 2009

Present: Councillor J G Sunderland Deputy Chairman in the Chair

Councillors P C Connolly; R Pitt; G Scurrah; D Wilson.

Councillor J Bowman also attended

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs J I Hully and T Knowles.

Officers: K Parker, Acting Corporate Director, Quality of Life; J Crellin, Head of Finance and MIS; M Robinson, Audit and Fraud Prevention Manager; T Capper, Democratic Services Manager; H Mitchell, Head of Policy and Performance (Agenda Item 8); A Clark, Accountancy Services Manager (Agenda Item 8)

Also in attendance: I Boit, Audit Commission

Chairman

Before the commencement of the formal business the Deputy Chairman referred to the recent illness of the Independent Chairman and it was agreed that the Committee's best wishes for a speedy recovery be sent to him.

AU 66 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 27 May 2009 were signed by the chairman as a correct record.

AU 67 <u>Annual Governance Statement 2008/2009</u>

The Committee considered the draft Annual Governance Statement for 2008/2009 following agreement by the Committee of an amended Statement of Internal Control for 2006/2007 and Annual Governance Statement for 2007/2008 at the meeting on 27 March 2009. The Council was required to complete the annual Governance Statement as part of the process for signing off the Accounts for 2008/2009.

RESOLVED – that the Annual Governance Statement be approved subject to the amendments discussed and an amended version reported to the next meeting of the Committee.

AU 68 Strategic Audit Plan 2009/2010 to 2010/2011

Members considered the Strategic Audit Plan for 2009/2010 to 2011/2012 based on resources available and on a risk assessment carried out for all Council services.

RESOLVED – that the Strategic Audit Plan be approved as submitted

AU 69 Statement of Accounts

Members received a training presentation from the Head of Finance and MIS as part of preparing for approval of the Statement of Accounts for 2008/2009.

The meeting closed at 11.55 am

Chairman