COPELAND BOROUGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING HELD ON 14 MAY 2013

Present: Councillors Peter Tyson (Mayor); David Banks; John Bowman; Jackie Bowman; Hugh Branney; Yvonne Clarkson; George Clements; Peter Connolly; Geoffrey Blackwell; Margarita Docherty; Eileen Eastwood; Anne Faichney; John Fallows; Allan Forster; Geoffrey Garrity; Fred Gleaves; Phil Greatorex; Stephen Haraldsen; Reg Heathcote; Ian Hill; Keith Hitchen; Lena Hogg; Allan Holliday; Joan Hully; John Jackson; Alan Jacob; John Kane; David Moore; Alistair Norwood; Jack Park; Sam Pollen; David Riley; Robert Salkeld; Gilbert Scurrah; Dave Smith William Southward; Peter Stephenson; Graham Sunderland; Gillian Troughton; Paul Whalley Jeanette Williams; Felicity Wilson; Carole Woodman; Elaine Woodburn

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Karl Connor; Brian Dixon; Jon Downie; Peter Kane; Michael McVeigh; Doug Wilson; Henry Wormstrup.

C 01 Election of Mayor

On the motion of Councillor Joan Hully, duly seconded and

RESOLVED - That Councillor Geoff Garrity be elected Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year.

Councillor Garrity then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, was invested with the Chain of Office and assumed the Chair.

C02 Retiring Mayor and Mayoress

Councillor Peter Tyson expressed his thanks for the support he and the retiring Mayoress had received during his term of office as Mayor.

It was then

RESOLVED - That the Council thanks most sincerely Councillor Peter Tyson and the retiring Mayoress for the valuable service rendered by them to the Borough during their term of office.

The Leader of The Council, Councillor Elaine Woodburn, and The Leader of the main Opposition Group, Councillor David Moore also paid tribute to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

The Mayor announced that he had appointed Reverend Fergus Pearson as his Chaplain for the ensuing year, and that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 21 July 2013 at 2.00pm at St Johns Church Hensingham.

C03 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

It was moved by Councillor David Moore, duly seconded and

RESOLVED - That Councillor Eileen Eastwood be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year.

C04 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of the Special Council held on 14 May 2013 were signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

C05 Future of Overview and Scrutiny – Priorities and Structure Going Forward in 2013/14

To consider proposals for the future of Overview and Scrutiny Committee and how they will contribute to the delivery to the Council's Corporate Plan priorities and overall transformation programme.

RESOLVED – That a) the Corporate Plan priorities for 2013-15 at 2.3 be noted;

- b) section 3 of the report and the context within which the review and proposals have been undertaken and developed be noted;
- c) the proposed areas of focus for O&S at 4.1.3 be considered and agreed;
- d) the establishment of Public Sector Partner Priority Task Groups (PSPGs) in which partnership scrutiny work will be undertaken be agreed;
- e) the restructure of the O&S function from two committees to one politically balanced committee of 13 Members including a Chair and Deputy Chair be agreed;
- f) it be noted that work will take place with the Member Development Panel to put in place in year training and awareness which identifies the in house capacity and other resources available to meet the specific personal and professional development needs of O&S Members; and
- g) that subject to agreement of the proposals, the O&S protocols as contained within the Constitution will be revised and updated be noted;

C06 Membership of Executive and Committees 2012/13

It was moved by Councillor Miss E M Woodburn, duly seconded and

RESOLVED – That the appointments to Committees and panels for the 2012/2013 municipal year be agreed as shown on the schedule attached to these minutes.

C07 Calender of Meetings 2013/14

RESOLVED – That Calendar of meetings 2013/14 be approved.

The Meeting closed at 2.40pm