# COPELAND BOROUGH COUNCIL

#### MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING HELD ON 14 MAY 2013

Present: Councillors Peter Tyson (Mayor); David Banks; John Bowman; Jackie Bowman; Hugh Branney; Yvonne Clarkson; George Clements; Peter Connolly; Karl Connor; Margarita Docherty; Eileen Eastwood; Anne Faichney; Allan Forster; Geoffrey Garrity; Phil Greatorex; Stephen Haraldsen; Reg Heathcote; Ian Hill; Keith Hitchen; Lena Hogg; Allan Holliday; Joan Hully; John Jackson; John Kane; David Moore; Alistair Norwood; Jack Park; Sam Pollen; David Riley; Robert Salkeld; Gilbert Scurrah; Dave Smith William Southward; Peter Stephenson; Graham Sunderland; Gillian Troughton; Paul Whalley Jeanette Williams; Felicity Wilson; Carole Woodman; Elaine Woodburn

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Geoffrey Blackwell; Brian Dixon; Jon Downie; John Fallows; Fred Gleaves; Alan Jacob; Peter Kane; Michael McVeigh; Doug Wilson; Henry Wormstrup.

# C 115 Minutes

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 21 March 2013 were signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

## C 116 Mayor's Announcements

The Mayor welcomed Councillor Allan Forster to his first meeting of Council.

### C 117 Questions from Members of the Public

There were no questions from members of the public

## C 118 Report of the Policy Development Group – Future of the Mayorality

Consideration was given to the recommendations of the Policy Development Group established by Council on 21 March 2013 on the future of the Mayoralty in Copeland.

It was moved by Councillor Graham Sunderland duly seconded that: -

- (1) the future operating model for the mayoralty is a Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Copeland, to chair Council meetings and attend the three main civic events continuing on a reduced scale Annual Meeting, Civic Sunday and Remembrance Sunday; and other civic engagements within Cumbria at the Mayor's discretion and within the available budget of £3500. Attendance at events outside Cumbria or at costs in excess of the agreed budget to be funded by the Mayor personally;
- (2) the current provisions in Chapter 6 of the Constitution providing that the political group having a majority on the Council has a right to nominate a Member for election to the Mayoralty in two consecutive years in three and the political group in a minority on the Council

has a right to nominate a Member to the Mayoralty every third year in three, is retained; and that no other changes are made to Chapter 6 of the Constitution (Chairing the Council and the Mayor) other than deletion of the words "the majority of" in the third line;

- (3) the role of Deputy Mayor be restricted to deputising for the Mayor as Chair of Council, and the Deputy Mayor's allowance is discontinued for 2013/14 and future years;
- (4) it be confirmed that for 2013/14 and future years, there will be no secretarial or administrative support to the Mayoralty from within existing Council resources. Administrative support for the three main functions and support and advice to the Mayor as Chair of Council meetings will continue unchanged, as will advice to the Mayor on civic protocol in connection with attendance at specific events.

It was further moved by Councillor Elaine Woodburn by way of an amendment that: -

- (1) the future operating model for the mayoralty is a Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Copeland, to chair Council meetings and attend the three main civic events continuing on a reduced scale Annual Meeting, Civic Sunday and Remembrance Sunday; and other civic engagements within Cumbria at the Mayor's discretion and within the available budget.
- (2) the role of Deputy Mayor be restricted to deputising for the Mayor as Chair of Council, and the Deputy Mayor's allowance is discontinued for 2013/14 and future years;
- (3) it be confirmed that for 2013/14 and future years, there will be no secretarial or administrative support to the Mayoralty from within existing Council resources. Administrative support for the three main functions and support and advice to the Mayor as Chair of Council meetings will continue unchanged, as will advice to the Mayor on civic protocol in connection with attendance at specific events.
- (4) Chapter 6 of the Constitution be amended to delete the first two paragraphs under "Nomination of Members for Election of Mayor" and replacing them with: -
  - (a) the political group having a majority on the Council will make a nomination of a Councillor to be elected to the Mayoralty at the last ordinary Council meeting preceding the Annual Meeting in any three out of four years of a four year Council term; and
  - (b) 1 in every 4 year term, the Councillor nominated for election to the Mayoralty will be an Opposition Councillor.

The amendment was duly seconded and upon being put to the vote

### **RESOLVED** – That

(1) the future operating model for the mayoralty is a Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Copeland, to chair Council meetings and attend the three main civic events continuing on a reduced scale

- Annual Meeting, Civic Sunday and Remembrance Sunday; and other civic engagements within Cumbria at the Mayor's discretion and within the available budget.
- (2) the role of Deputy Mayor be restricted to deputising for the Mayor as Chair of Council, and the Deputy Mayor's allowance is discontinued for 2013/14 and future years;
- (3) it be confirmed that for 2013/14 and future years, there will be no secretarial or administrative support to the Mayoralty from within existing Council resources. Administrative support for the three main functions and support and advice to the Mayor as Chair of Council meetings will continue unchanged, as will advice to the Mayor on civic protocol in connection with attendance at specific events; and
- (4) Chapter 6 of the Constitution be amended to delete the first two paragraphs under "Nomination of Members for Election of Mayor" and replacing them with: -
  - (a) the political group having a majority on the Council will make a nomination of a Councillor to be elected to the Mayoralty at the last ordinary Council meeting preceding the Annual Meeting in any three out of four years of a four year Council term; and
  - (b) 1 in every 4 year term, the Councillor nominated for election to the Mayoralty will be an Opposition Councillor.

The meeting closed at 12.15 pm

Mayor