COPELAND BOROUGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING HELD ON 9 MAY 2006

Present: Councillors: N Clarkson (Mayor); M Ashbrook; D Banks; Mrs M Barnes; G Blackwell; Anne Bradshaw; H Branney; E Brenan; Mrs Y R T Clarkson; G Clements; R Cole; Mrs M D Docherty; Mrs E Eastwood; Mrs D A Faichney; G Garrity; Mrs C A Giel; F J Gleaves; F R Heathcote; J E Hewitson; K H Hitchen; A Holliday; Mrs J Hully; J Jackson; A Jacob; A J Johnston; Mrs J K Johnston; F McPhillips; M A McVeigh; S J Meteer; Mrs W B Metherell; D W Moore; A Norwood; J Park; J Prince; R Salkeld; G Scurrah; W Southward; P D Tyson; N Williams; A Wonnacott; Mrs D A Wonnacott; Miss E M Woodburn; Mrs M B Woodburn; H Wormstrup.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors J Close BEM; P C Connolly; B A Dixon; J G Sunderland; Mrs C Watson; P Watson; K Young

C01 Election of Mayor

On the motion of Councillor Miss E Woodburn and seconded by Councillor G Blackwell, it was

RESOLVED - That Councillor Mrs W B Metherell be elected Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year.

Councillor Mrs Metherell then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, was invested with the Chain of Office and assumed the Chair.

Minutes

The Minutes of the meeting held on 18 April 2006 were signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

C02 Retiring Mayor and Mayoress

Councillor N Clarkson expressed his thanks for the support he and the retiring Mayoress had received during his term of office as Mayor.

It was then

RESOLVED - That the Council thanks most sincerely Councillor Clarkson and the retiring Mayoress for the valuable service rendered by them to the Borough during their term of office.

The Leader of The Council, Councillor Miss E M Woodburn, and The Leader of the main Opposition Group, Councillor D W Moore also paid tribute to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

The Mayor announced that she had appointed the Reverend John Bannister as her Chaplain for the ensuing year, and that the Civic Service would be held at the Church of the Holy Spirit, Distington on Sunday 25 June 2005 at 2.00pm.

C03 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

It was moved by Councillor A Holliday, duly seconded and

RESOLVED - That Councillor Mrs D A Faichney be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year.

C04 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 18 April 2006 were signed by the Mayor as a correct record, subject to clarification of Minute C111 to the effect that Councillor W Southward declared a personal interest in the North West Communities Programme (Economic Infrastructure report) as a member of a user organisation of the Copeland Stadium.

C05 Appointment of Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council and of the Main Opposition Group

It was moved, duly seconded and

RESOLVED - That Councillors Miss E M Woodburn and M J Ashbrook be appointed Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council respectively for the ensuing year.

It was then announced that Councillors D W Moore and A W M Norwood had been appointed Leader and Deputy Leader respectively of the Main Opposition Group for the ensuing year.

C06 Membership of Executive, Standing Panels, Overview and Scrutiny Committees and Committees

It was moved by Councillor Miss E M Woodburn, duly seconded and

RESOLVED - That Membership and Chairmanships of the Executive, Panels, Committees and other Member bodies for 2006/2007 be as set out in the schedule tabled and attached to these minutes.

C07 Appointments to Outside Bodies

The meeting closed at 7.30 pm

RESOLVED – that the following appointments be made:

<u>Organisation</u>	<u>Appointment</u>
Copeland Area Transport Advisory Group	Councillor R Salkeld (substitute Councillor E Brenan)
Rosehill Theatre	Councillor Anne Bradshaw for 12 months
Copeland Homes	Councillors G Clements, P C Connolly, Mrs A Faichney, Mrs M B Woodburn

Mayor

MEMBERSHIPS FOR 2006/2000

EXECUTIVE

Leader – Councillor E Woodburn

Deputy Leader – Councillor M Ashbrook

Resources & Local Democracy – Cllr N Williams

Health & Diversity – Councillor G Blackwell

Housing & Community Safety – Councillor G Clements

Business Growth – Councillor C Giel

Environmental & Cultural Services – Councillor A Holliday

Economic Infrastructure – Councillor H Wormstrup

SHADOW EXECUTIVE

Leader – Councillor D Moore

Deputy Leader – Councillor A Norwood

Resources & Local Democracy – Councillor K Hitchen

Health & Diversity – Councillor Mrs E Eastwood

Housing & Community Safety – Councillor J Jackson

Business Growth – Councillor F McPhillips

Environmental & Cultural Services – Councillor Mrs Y R T Clarkson

Economic Infrastructure – Councillor N Clarkson

APPEALS PANEL

Councillors: D Banks

R Cole

Mrs D A Faichney

J Park R Salkeld W Southward Mrs C Watson

PERSONNEL PANEL

Councillors: Mrs C Giel (Chairman)

Deputy Leader of the Council – M Ashbrook

H Branney

Mrs Y R T Clarkson

K Hitchen N Clarkson

Portfolio Holder – Resources & Local Democracy – N Williams

LICENSING COMMITTEE

Councillors: P Connolly (Chairman)

S Meteer (Deputy Chairman)

N Clarkson R S Cole

Mrs M D Docherty J E Hewitson

Mrs J K Johnston

J Prince R Salkeld

G Sunderland

P Tyson

A Wonnacott

TAXI AND GENERAL LICENSING PANEL

Councillors: P Connolly (Chairman)

S Meteer N Clarkson R Cole J Prince G Sunderland

P Tyson

JOINT CONSULTATIVE & SAFETY PANEL

Councillors: G Blackwell (Joint Chairman)

G Clements
J Close BEM
F Heathcote
J Park
J Prince
A Wonnacott

Licensing Sub Committees

LCS₁

Councillors: S Meteer (Chairman)

N Clarkson Mrs M Docherty

LCS₂

Councillors: J Hewitson (Chairman)

J Prince R Salkeld

LCS₃

Councillors: P Connolly (Chairman)

R Cole A Wonnacott

LCS 4

Councillors: Mrs J K Johnston (Chairman)

J G Sunderland P Tyson

OSC – ECONOMIC WELL BEING

Councillors: P Connolly (Chairman)

K Hitchen (Deputy Chairman)

D Banks Mrs M Barnes R Cole Mrs M Docherty

A Johnston
D Moore
J Prince

OSC - ENVIRONMENTAL WELL BEING

Councillors: Anne Bradshaw (Chairman)

Mrs E Eastwood(Deputy Chairman)

Mrs M Barnes N Clarkson B Dixon Mrs J Johnston F McPhillips J Park W Southward

OSC - SOCIAL WELL BEING

Councillors: Mrs M Woodburn (Chairman)

R Salkeld (Deputy Chairman)

J Close BEM
Mrs A Faichney
G Garrity
F Gleaves
F Heathcote
S Meteer

Mrs W B Metherell

OSC - PERFORMANCE & RESOURCES

Councillors: Mrs Y R T Clarkson (Chairman)

M McVeigh (Deputy Chairman)

E Brenan J Jackson A Johnston A Norwood P Tyson P Watson K Young

MEMBER TRAINING & DEVELOPMENT PANEL

Councillors: Mrs M Barnes (Chairman)

B Dixon J Hewitson K Hitchen F McPhillips P Watson N Williams

NUCLEAR WORKING GROUP

Councillors: G Blackwell (Chairman)

D K Banks
B Dixon
A Holliday
D W Moore
A W M Norwood
Miss E M Woodburn

PLANNING PANEL

Councillors: M McViegh (Chairman)

W Southward (Deputy Chairman)

E Brenan Mrs M Docherty Mrs E Eastwood G Garrity J Hewitson Mrs J I Hully J Jackson F McPhillips G Scurrah

TRANSPORT WORKING GROUP

Councillors: P Connolly(Chairman)

> E Brenan N Clarkson K Hitchen A Johnston G Sunderland H Wormstrup

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Councillors: Mrs M B Woodburn

> N Clarkson Mrs M Docherty G Garrity

Mrs D A Wonnacott

Independent Members:

Dr S Bradley Mr N Woodcock

Parish Member:

Mr R Stewart

Substitute Parish Member:

Mr V Chilton

BUDGET WORKING PARTY

Leader of the Council (Chairman)

Deputy Leader of the Council

Anne Bradshaw **Councillors:**

Mrs J K Johnston G Sunderland P Watson A Norwood

LOCAL PLAN WORKING PARTY

Councillors: Mrs M Barnes

G Blackwell P Connolly A Holliday M McVeigh R Salkeld G Scurrah W Southward

PARISH REVIEW WORKING PARTY

Councillors: A Johnston

G Clements A Jacob P Tyson N Williams A Wonnacott K Young

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Councillors: Mrs J Hully (Chairman)

H Branney J Hewitson A Jacob G Scurrah G Sunderland Mrs C Watson