COPELAND BOROUGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING HELD ON 22 MAY 2007

Present: Councillors: Mrs W Metherell (Mayor); D Banks; G Blackwell; J W Bowman; H Branney; A Carroll; N Clarkson; Mrs Y R T Clarkson; G Clements; R Cole; P C Connolly; Mrs M D Docherty; Mrs E Eastwood; Mrs D A Faichney; G Garrity; Mrs C A Giel; F J Gleaves; F R Heathcote; K H Hitchen; A Holliday; Mrs J Hully; J Jackson; A Jacob; J Kane; T J Knowles; M A McVeigh; S J Meteer; D W Moore; A D Mossop; A Norwood; J Prince; R Salkeld; W Southward; J G Sunderland; P D Tyson; Mrs C Watson; P Watson; P Whalley; C J Whiteside; N Williams; D Wilson; A Wonnacott; Miss E M Woodburn; Mrs M B Woodburn; H Wormstrup.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Anne Bradshaw; E Brenan; J Close BEM; B A Dixon; J Park; R Pitt; G Scurrah.

C01 Election of Mayor

On the motion of Councillor A Holliday and seconded by Councillor P C Connolly, it was

RESOLVED - That Councillor Mrs D A Faichney be elected Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year.

Councillor Mrs Faichney then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, was invested with the Chain of Office and assumed the Chair.

C02 Retiring Mayor and Mayoress

Councillor Mrs W Metherell expressed her thanks for the support she and the retiring Mayoress had received during her term of office as Mayor.

It was then

RESOLVED - That the Council thanks most sincerely Councillor Mrs Metherell and the retiring Mayoress for the valuable service rendered by them to the Borough during their term of office.

The Leader of The Council, Councillor Miss E M Woodburn, and The Leader of the main Opposition Group, Councillor D W Moore also paid tribute to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

The Mayor announced that she had appointed Father Kevin Lowrey as her Chaplain for the ensuing year, and that the Civic Service would be held on Sunday 4 June 2007 at 2.00pm.

C03 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

It was moved, duly seconded and

RESOLVED - That Councillor K Hitchen be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year.

C04 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 17 April 2007 were signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

C05 Appointment of Leader of the Council and of the Main Opposition Group

It was moved, duly seconded and

RESOLVED - That Councillors Miss E M Woodburn be appointed Leader of the Council for four years from the date of the meeting.

It was then announced that Councillors D W Moore and A W M Norwood had been appointed Leader and Deputy Leader respectively of the Main Opposition Group for the ensuing year.

Committees and Committees Committees Committees

It was moved by Councillor Miss E M Woodburn, duly seconded and

RESOLVED - That Membership and Chairmanships of the Executive, Panels, Committees and other Member bodies for 2007/2008 be as set out in the schedule tabled and attached to these minutes.

The meeting closed at 7.30 pm

Mayor

MEMBERSHIPS FOR 2007/2008

EXECUTIVE

Leader - Councillor E Woodburn

Deputy Leader

(Effective Leadership) - Councillor A Holliday

Deputy Leader

(Achieving Transformation) - Councillor C Giel

Deputy Leader

(Promoting Prosperity) - Councillor G Clements

Councillor T Knowles

Councillor N Williams

Councillor H Branney

Councillor G Blackwell

SHADOW EXECUTIVE

Leader - Councillor D Moore

Deputy Leader – Councillor A Norwood

Councillor Y R T Clarkson

Councillor J Jackson

Councillor R Pitt

Councillor N Clarkson Councillor R Salkeld

Councillor C Whiteside

APPEALS PANEL

Councillors: D Banks

Mrs D A Faichney

J Park G Scurrah W Southward Mrs C Watson C Whiteside

PERSONNEL PANEL

Councillors: Mrs M Woodburn (Chairman)

H Branney

Mrs Y R T Clarkson

K Hitchen N Clarkson P Whalley N Williams

LICENSING COMMITTEE

Councillors: P Connolly (Chairman)

R S Cole

Mrs M D Docherty

S Meteer R Pitt J Prince R Salkeld G Sunderland P Tyson P Whalley A Wonnacott M Woodburn

TAXI AND GENERAL LICENSING PANEL

Councillors: P Connolly (Chairman)

S Meteer R Cole J Prince G Sunderland P Tyson A Wonnacott

Licensing Sub Committees

LCS₁

P Connolly (Chairman) Mrs M Woodburn Councillors:

A Wonnacott

LCS₂

Councillors: S Meteer (Chairman)

J Prince R Salkeld

LCS₃

Councillors: Mrs M Docherty (Chairman)

R Cole P Tyson

LCS 4

G Sunderland (Chairman) **Councillors:**

> R Pitt P Whalley

JOINT CONSULTATIVE & SAFETY PANEL

Councillors: G Blackwell

F Gleaves F Heathcote A Mossop J Park J Prince W Southward

OSC - MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Councillors: P Connolly (Chairman)

K Hitchen (Deputy Chairman)

A Bradshaw
Mrs Y R T Clarkson
Mrs E Eastwood
M McVeigh
Mrs W Metherell
R Salkeld
P Whalley

OSC - CHILDREN, YOUNG PEOPLE & HEALTHY COMMUNITIES

Councillors: Mrs Y R T Clarkson (Chairman)

M McVeigh (Deputy Chairman)

D Banks R Cole

Mrs A Faichney G Garrity A Jacob J Kane A Mossop J Park P Tyson C Whiteside

OSC – ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT & ENTERPRISE

Councillors: Anne Bradshaw (Chairman)

D Wilson

R Salkeld (Deputy Chairman)

D Banks
J Bowman
E Brenan
N Clarkson
Mrs M Docherty
D Moore
J Prince

G Scurrah C Whiteside A Wonnacott H Wormstrup

OSC - SAFER & STRONGER COMMUNITIES

Councillors: Mrs W Metherell (Chairman)

Mrs E Eastwood (Deputy Chairman)

A Carroll
G Garrity
F Gleaves
F Heathcote
J Jackson
J Kane
J Park
G Scurrah
W Southward
P Watson
M Woodburn

MEMBER TRAINING & DEVELOPMENT PANEL

Councillors: Mrs Y R T Clarkson

B Dixon

Mrs E Eastwood K Hitchen S Meteer P Watson N Williams

NUCLEAR WORKING GROUP

Councillors: D K Banks

G Blackwell B Dixon A Holliday D W Moore A W M Norwood Miss E M Woodburn

PLANNING PANEL

Councillors: M McVeigh (Chairman)

W Southward (Deputy Chairman)

E Brenan A Carroll Mrs M Docherty

G Garrity Mrs J I Hully J Jackson A Jacob D Wilson H Wormstrup

TRANSPORT WORKING GROUP

Councillors: H Wormstrup (Chairman)

D Banks E Brenan J Kane A Mossop R Pitt

G Sunderland

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Councillors: N Clarkson

Mrs M Docherty G Garrity D Moore

Mrs M Woodburn

Independent Members:

Mr N Woodcock (Chairman) Dr S Bradley (D/Chairman)

Parish Member:

Mr R Stewart

Substitute Parish Member:

Mr V Chilton

RESOURCE PLANNING WORKING GROUP

Leader of the Council (Chairman)

Councillors: J Bowman

A Bradshaw A Holliday A Norwood G Sunderland P Watson

LOCAL PLAN (DEVELOPMENT FRAMEWORK) WORKING PARTY

Councillors: P Connolly

C Giel M McVeigh A Mossop G Scurrah W Southward C Whiteside

PARISH REVIEW WORKING PARTY

Councillors: G Clements

P Connolly F Gleaves F Heathcote G Scurrah P Tyson N Williams

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Councillors:

Mrs J Hully (Chairman) G Sunderland (Deputy Chairman) B Dixon

S Meteer A Norwood R Pitt

Mrs C Watson