Open mobile menu
Close mobile menu

We are currently preparing bids to the Future High Streets Fund (Whitehaven) and Towns Fund (Millom and Cleator Moor)

Find out more

Whitehaven, Egremont and District Credit Union

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

A credit union is a community based, non profit making, savings and borrowings organisation that is owned, run and controlled by its members, all of whom are volunteers.

To use the services of a credit union you have to become a 'member'. Adult membership is open to anyone over the age of 16 who lives or works within a specific area known as a Common Bond. In this case, it means within Whitehaven, Egremont and District area. An entrance fee of £2 is charged to cover the initial paper work.

Credit unions are governed by law and have a set of rules approved by the Financial Services Authority before they can operate and are fully insured against theft and fraud. You can save up to £10,000 with them, saving from as little as 50p a time. You can also borrow money subject to certain criteria.

The place where you pay in your money and apply for loans is called a collection point.

Collection points are available at the following venues:

Sundays,  10am to 1pm, St Benedicts Church, Mirehoues, Whitehaven

Monday to Friday, 10am to 12, 24 James Street, Whitehaven

Monday to Friday, 9.30am to 10.30am at the Family Advice Centre, Fell View Avenue, Woodhouse, Whitehaven

Tuesday, 9am to 9.30am at Mirehouse Community Centre, Seathwaite Avenue, Mirehouse, Whitehaven

Thursday, 8.45am to 9.45am, Thornhill Library, Egremont

Thursday, 2pm - 3.30pm, Orgill Family Centre, Egremont

Friday, 10.30am to 11.30am, De Lucy Centre, Market Place, Egremont

For further information contact:

Whitehaven Office - 24 James Street, Whitehaven, Cumbria CA28 7HZ. Tel: 01946 66755

Egremont Office - De Lucy Centre, 15-17 Market Place, Egremont, Cumbria CA22 2AF. Tel: 01946 828104