Community partnership meetings


Locality working

  1. West Copeland

    The parishes of St Bees, Egremont, Haile and Wilton, Beckermet with Thornhill and Lowside Quarter work together as the West Copeland Partnership.

    The Partnership has raised funds to employ a gardener for the gardens at Egremont Castle and to improve areas around the parishes. It has also helped to address the provision of services for young people in the area.

  2. Howgate Distington

    The Howgate Distington Partnership meets every two months. It has been responsible for several initiatives to meet its communities' priorities including:

    • a 'lengthsman' service to the four parishes to tidy, improve and maintain untidy areas
    • addressing concerns around the area's roads.
  3. Copeland Partnership

    The Copeland Partnership resulted from a consultation process during 2010, to create a specific local strategic partnership arrangement for Copeland.  The roots of the Copeland Partnership are in our six localities and its structure has been built around existing partnership working facilitating streamlined delivery and many routes of influence. 


  4. Whitehaven Partnership

    The Whitehaven Partnership was formed to bring together District and County Councillors to address the priorities of their communities.

  5. Locality Plan

    Community Plan for West Copeland

  6. North East Copeland Locality Action Plan

    Every year the Regeneration North East Copeland and the partnership of parishes which it represents identify priorities for delivery in the coming year.

  7. West Copeland Plan and October 2012 Update

    Community Partnership Plan for the West Copeland Partnership with updated action table October 2012.

  8. What Locality do I live in?
  9. North East Copeland

    NE Copeland is home to 12,167 people and includes the parishes of Cleator Moor, Arlecdon & Frizington, Ennerdale & Kinniside, Lamplugh and Weddicar. Ennerdale is one of the most sparsely populated areas in Cumbria, whilst Cleator Moor is one of West Cumbria’s main industrial towns.

  10. Mid Copeland

    The parishes of Mid Copeland have worked together to support several key projects including:

    • planning and raising funds for a multi-user route (for walkers, cyclists and horseriders) between Gosforth and Seascale
    • a bus service between Seascale Station and Wasdale Head
    • developing proposals for visitor facilities at Wasdale
  11. South Copeland

    South Copeland is the most southerly part of West Cumbria, encompassing coastal areas and fell country. The main town in the locality is Millom, which is separated from the Furness peninsula by the Duddon Estuary and is bounded to the west by the Irish Sea.

Subscribe to Community partnership meetings